ISAM Holding | How to recognize an emerald
post-template-default,single,single-post,postid-1033,single-format-standard,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,vertical_menu_enabled,side_area_uncovered_from_content,footer_responsive_adv,qode-child-theme-ver-1.0.0,qode-theme-ver-13.1.2,qode-theme-bridge,qode_advanced_footer_responsive_1000,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.4.5,vc_responsive

How to recognize an emerald

How to recognize an emerald

Emerald belong to beryl mineral group; its hardness is 7.5 (1 to 10 scale).

The value of an emerald depends on five main factors: (GIA System) Gemological Istitute of America.

COLOR: Bluish green – Light bluish green – Very light bluish green – Light yellowish green.

PURITY: Almost all emeralds have inclusions and are accompanied by small fractures and bi-ortrifaced cavities commonly known to jewelers as mirrors, feathers, gauss or garden.


SIZE: More than one carat, is more valuable.

FORMS: The variety of cuts or shapes.

The most valuable emeralds come from the MUZO mine. Some other mines are: Chivor, Gachala, Coscuez, Peñas Blanca, La Pita.

Colombian emeralds are well known by their unique brightness and color, besides their broadly variety sizes.